Saturday, March 31, 2012

New seasons, fresh beginnings

Greetings from the DeKalb Public Library. The last time I wrote in this blog, I said I was single. Well, that needs to be updated. I am back together with "she who shall remain nameless" on this blog, but everyone who knows me knows who she is. Although the almost three months of separation was very difficult at times, it also allowed me to take stock of my life, and realize that, independent of relationship status, I could find joy and fulfillment in the other relationships in my life - with my family, my son, and friends. Just when I was beginning to accept being single again, I was asked to be back in my significant other's life. I was missed. And I am needed. So here I am. Here we are. Our future together should be full of joy and grace.

In other news...

After almost three months of due diligence, I let a day go in between runs last week. But I'm still AVERAGING a run every other day and have ran at least three times a week all year. Since January 7, I have used an app on my phone, Endomondo, to track my runs. I love the map feature of this site, especially since, early on, I ran in different locales all around the country. Here is a link to my Endomondo results:

http://www.endomondo.com/workouts/njApDGyinb0

The above link shows the most current run, March 30, but clicking around gives access to the other runs. I also post results on Facebook and Twitter. Not that anyone but myself cares. I post the results to keep myself accountable to me.

On March 11, I ran my first 10K race of the year, the Lisle, IL, Spring Sprint. Here are results for that.

http://results.active.com/pages/displayNonGru.jsp?pubID=3&rsID=124657

I finished 62nd out of 199 runners and 4th out of 13 in my age group (35-39) with a time of 49:52. More important, I achieved a New Year's goal from last year to finish a 10K in under 50 minutes. Now, my goal for the next 10K race is to finish in under 49 minutes. We'll see. My normal pace is an 8:30 to 9 minute mile. I can't seem to improve too much on that. When I started running again in November 2010, my pace was around 11 minutes. Improvement came quickly, but I've plateaued since then. The same thing happened with weight loss. When I started working out regularly, I quickly lost 20 pounds, but then maintained the same weight for months. I'm now hovering near my 200 pound ideal weight, but any indulgence goes straight to fat.

WORKING IT!

I'm still on my regular trucking route and still love being home every weekend. My job may change soon and trucking days come to an end. An opening for an orientation trainer will be opening up at my home terminal. The person who currently has the job approached me and asked if I'd like to be his replacement. He will recommend me for the job. Of course, I still would have to apply for it and there are no guarantees. But if I got it, it would be a regular, salaried, first shift, 40 hour a week position with all the same benefits I have as a trucker and a slight increase in pay. I would have to commute an hour each way to work, which would offset the wage increase and cost me more in the long run. But this job will allow me to teach prospective employees how to use the truck's onboard computer, give written tests of their knowledge of trucking and safety regulations, and administer road tests. Considering my background in education, I am qualified for the job. I like the prospect of being home again with my family and having the hours of a regular full-time job. Trucking has its allures, but the drawback of being away overshadows the benefits. I'll post an update as more details become available.

My time is up here and family awaits...